Advice on where to find work

Hi!

I'm very new to the world of creating comics professionally.

I was wondering if you guys had any tips on where to look for or pick up work as a penciller, inker, flatter, or colourist please?

Besides this account and one on GutterZombie, I just don't really know where to begin.

Thank you!

JamieMe

Administrator
Staff member
Hmm, a few ones I've hired from:

Deviant Art
Pencil Jack

Ones I've seen do well:

ZWOL (not sure if it survived the spam thing)
Twitter (takes time, buy with your art level you likely will do well).
Facebook Groups

Excellent!

Thanks again.
I'll make more of an effort on DA, Twitter, and FB then, and check out PencilJack and ZWOL.

Always handy to know some dedicated places as well as generic social sharing places.

I thought ZWOL was dead. That's interesting. Did they sort their spam issue?
Dude, no, they didn't fix the spam issue. Sometimes one admin deletes all spam threads, but they appear again and again. BUT, even with that, is the best option to get comic book work, at least for me. I'm practically live from the gigs that I get from Zwol, and I have enough time to my webcomic (and my webcomic produce $20 a month hehe).

JamieMe

Administrator
Staff member
Dude, no, they didn't fix the spam issue. Sometimes one admin deletes all spam threads, but they appear again and again. BUT, even with that, is the best option to get comic book work, at least for me. I'm practically live from the gigs that I get from Zwol, and I have enough time to my webcomic (and my webcomic produce $20 a month hehe).
Such a shame, when I was creating the boards ZWOL was obviously one I looked at, and it was rough seeing them have all that spam. I hope they can upgrade the boards somehow one day. The one we use here has anti-spam built in, and it checks a database to autoban regular offends from other sights. Really useful feature.