How do you make comics?

Discussion in 'Creative Discussion' started by Bakertoons, May 25, 2017.

1. Bakertoons

Bakertoons White Belt

I've always been fascinated by how people draw comics. How do you create yours?

I wrote a two-part blog post about this a while back, which is here and here. Short version is that, after I plan out the story, I pencil the page on Photoshop with a tablet, print the sketch out, then ink it traditionally before I scan it back into the computer for coloring, etc.

How about you?

DLF likes this.
  2. Aron Mason

Aron Mason Blue Belt

As I have just changed the way i draw my pages this thread gave me a chance to kill two birds with one stone, so the posted page is also for my readers
    tried posting it here but was a bit small to read. so best going to where i posted it https://tapas.io/episode/707088
    Enjoy!

Last edited: May 25, 2017
    DLF likes this.
  3. JamieMe

JamieMe Administrator Staff Member

As a writer I use Google Docs (syncs everywhere and all devices, quite handy). I format my scripts in the "full script" method. To this day I have no idea how Marvel Method is even a thing, ha ha.

As a letterist I use Illustrator and Clip. I must admit I'm now moving over to the latter full-time. It is just operationally better, IMO. I can't wait until some of my newer work is cleared to share!

DLF likes this.
  4. Shaneoid

Shaneoid Purple Belt

I came in to comics thinking I had to work from a script and for many years that put me in a creative block. I read somewhere that some artists draw 'pivotal' scenes for their comics and build a story around that as another method of creating comics, so I tried this instead and it started me on the road I'm on now, with very few artistic blocks. It's a fun process as an artist as you're constantly able to imagine new ways in which to take a story, where a script may simply dictate.

DLF likes this.
  5. DLF

DLF Blue Belt